The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the Indian squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2019 to be played in England and Wales. The tournament will start from May 30 with a match between England and South Africa. India will also play their first match against South Africa on June 6.

Team India have already won the World Cup twice- in 1983 under Kapil Dev’s captaincy and in 2011 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. Team India is ranked no.2 on the ICC ODI team rankings and is heavy favorites to win the tournament along with the hosts England.

The team sees Virat Kohli captaining the Indian team for the first time in ICC World Cup and Rohit Sharma will be his deputy. Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul have been chosen as openers along with Rohit Sharma. Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Vijay Shankar and Hardik Pandya will be the chosen ones for the middle order.

Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal are the spinners chosen in the 15-man squad. There are only three pure fast bowlers chosen with Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah being the BCCI’s picks.

India will play their first match in the ICC World Cup 2019 against South Africa on June 6, 2019.

Team India squad for the ICC World Cup 2019:

Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni (WK), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah