The Indian Premier League(IPL) is now in its eighth season, but some records from the inaugural first edition held in 2008 still stand today.

The ongoing edition of the IPL has witnessed some records in its few days of existence. Yuvraj Singh fetched 16 crores in auction,bought by Delhi Daredevils,Kolkata Knight Riders who are the  defending champions didn’t lose a single match going unbeaten for 10 games and the Delhi Daredevils won their first match after 11 straight losses .

But some of the records have stood still  since being set in the inaugural edition in 2008.

Take a look at some of the records, which remain unbeaten till now.

Biggest win (by runs)

Brendon McCullum scored a whirlwind 158 not out for Kolkata Knight Riders.
Brendon McCullum scored a whirlwind 158 not out for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Brendon McCullum lit the inaugural match of the IPL with a dashing 158*, helping KKR pile up 223 for three at the Chinnaswamy stadium. The opposition Royal Challengers Bangalore could scrap through to only 82 (in 15.1 overs) in reply, and lost the match by 140 runs.

Best bowling figures in an innings

Sohail Tanvir took 6/14.
Sohail Tanvir took 6/14.

Tanvir took 6/14 in 4 overs against CSK on  the home ground of Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. His effort helped Rajasthan skittle out Chennai for a modest 109, before winning – by eight wickets – with 34 balls remaining.

Sohail Tanvir of Pakistan won the Purple Cap – awarded to the bowler with most wickets in the competition – in the inaugural edition. His 22 wickets played a crucial role in Rajasthan Royals’ unexpected triumph.

As we head into the eighth season of the tournament, Tanvir’s record is yet to be broken.

Highest-ever chase

Former Rajasthan Royals' captain Shane Warne.
Former Rajasthan Royals’ captain Shane Warne.

Another milestone for Rajasthan Royals in that memorable inaugural season of 2008.

A 53-ball 117 not out by Andrew Symonds helped the Chargers total a formidable 214 for five in a league game.

Graeme Smith who made 71 off 45 balls and Yusuf Pathan who made 61 off 28 balls added 98 for the second wicket to lay the foundation for Rajasthan batsmen to make the daunting task seem easier.

But it was the skipper who finished off the game. Shane Warne scored an unbeaten 22, off just nine balls, sealing a three-wicket win with successive sixes, ironically off Symonds.

Most extras in an innings

Only David Hussey managed more than the extras as Kolkata Knight Riders scampered home.
Only David Hussey managed more than the extras as Kolkata Knight Riders scampered home.

In their second match of the 2008 season, KKR faced Deccan Chargers and a polished bowling performance at the Eden Gardens restricted the Deccan Chargers to 110.

KKR then went on to benefit from the generosity of the visiting team, Deccan Chargers who went on to conceded 28 extras to make things easier for their hosts, on what was a difficult wicket.
In fact, after David Hussey’s 38 not out, extras were the second highest contributor to KKR’s five-wicket win!

Biggest win (by balls left)
sanath - Copy

After winning their opening two matches, KKR’s campaign surprisingly went south and they could only manage a  sixth place finish.

One of their biggest lows was at the Wankhede stadium. Shaun Pollock took three wickets (3-12) as Mumbai Indians bowled out the visitors for a paltry 67.

Despite losing Sachin Tendulkar for naught, a whirlwind 17-ball 48 not out by Sanath Jayasuriya ensured the hosts reached their target in just 5.3 overs, winning with 87 balls to spare.