India has announced their 15 man squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup 2015 to be held in Australia and New Zealand.

MS Dhoni will lead India in the 2015 ICC World cup.
MS Dhoni will lead India in the 2015 ICC World cup.

The team was chosen by selectors lead by former India player Roger Binny, Indian coach Duncan Fletcher and captain MS Dhoni.

The major concern was the inclusion of Ravindra Jadeja, who is currently injured and has not been a part of playing 11 in the ongoing test series vs Australia. Yuvraj Singh was discussed as an option for Jadeja, with Yuvraj scoring 3 consecutive centuries in Ranji trophy.

Ravindra Jadeja finds a place despite being injured.

But the selectors have gone with Ravindra Jadeja. Ambati Rayudu also found a place for himself, edging out Robin Uthappa. Murli Vijay also missed out on the 3rd opener spot. In the bowling department, India went with Ishant, Bhuvneshwar, Shami and Umesh Yadav.

Varun Aaron, Mohit Sharma, Dhaval Kulkarni, Karn Sharma missed out on the plane to World cup as selection committee picked Stuart Binny as the 5th seamer and all rounder option. Also Axar Patel was chosen over Yuvraj Singh as the second all rounder in the team.

Axar Patel rewarded for his consistency.
Axar Patel rewarded for his consistency.

India begin their campaign against arch rivals Pakistan on 15th February at the Adelaide Oval, Australia.

Indian Squad for ICC World Cup 2015:
MS Dhoni (c & wk), Virat Kohli (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Stuart Binny, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma